Quick post

I wouldn’t normally stick a post up for this, but hobby inspiration has been pretty sparse lately. I seem to have lost my mojo, both painting and gaming wise. It happens, I realise that it happens, and I am in no way quitting either painting or gaming. When this happens, you just have to celebrate small wins.

So, quite a while ago, I posted about a skaven warp lightning cannon that I’d painted ages ago and was going to use as a ratkin shredder in King’s of War. Id also said that i was looking for another one so i could run two. Well, after seeing the post, Dan King, the current TT Tournament champion, got in touch to let me know that he had one to sell. I agreed to the sale, and the next time we were both at a tourney, he handed over the goods.

Well, when i got it, it was in a bit of a sorry state and in desperate need of some love. The gunner was missing, and the paint job left a lot to be desired. It promptly got stuck in my pile of shame for a while. Well, I wanted to run the Ratkin Formation, Smoke, and Mirrors, so I made an effort to renovate it.

I’m quite happy with how this has turned out. I’ve used a variety of metallic paints, including some of the new army painter quick paint mettalics, and I think that they look good together. Yes, the gunner is missing, but in KOW, the war machine crew are only there to add aesthetic value. I do have a couple of slave pusher models that I have repainted, but they don’t fit very well on the base, so I’ll probably leave them off.

This isn’t the only thing that has been worked on. I’ve been gradually getting some paint on some Empire of Dust spearmen, and when they’re finished, I should have enough for another horde for cheap unlocks for the pharaohs of the Obsidian Wastes. These have been a project just to break up the monotony of painting endless ratkin warriors, and gradual progress has been made. I’ll post them here when they’re done as they’ve been a struggle all of their own. 

I’ve also assembled a hordes worth of Ratkin Nightmares and another regiment of tunnel runners to que them up for the painting table. I’d also like to add a mounted war chief and maybe another mutant rat fiend to the rosta to give me list building options. Plus, I’ve got the model ready to give me another death engine impaler or spewer, depending on which I fancy. That being said, the ratkin project is definitely drawing to a close if only I can get my finger out.

That’s it. See you next time. TTFN

AI necromancer. Meh

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started